Call for 2015 USCF Delegates


The ICA is calling for delegates to the 2015 USCF Annual Business Meeting, taking place August 8-9, 2015 in Phoenix, AZ.

If you wish to serve, please submit your application to Carl Dolson, ICA president, no later than November 30, 2014. His email address can be found on the "contact us" tab of this site.

Article VII: Selection of USCF Voting Members

The Executive Board shall select the required number of delegates and alternates to represent Illinois as voting members of the USCF. 

Read More

300 Compete at 2014 All-Grade in West Chicago

Peoria's Andrew Fei has added Illinois Champion to his chess resume sweeping all four rounds to claim the Grades 9-12 Championship of the 2014 All-Grade.

In the third round, Fei beat Dunlap High School teammate Yiliang Li. Yiliang had defeated Trevor Huang in the first round with both Yiliang and Trevor tying for second with 3.0/4 postings.

With Maxwell Jong contributing his 2.5 score to the tallies from Andrew and Yiliang, Dunlap won the team championship over Hinsdale Central. 

Three schools won a pair of team championships: Indian Trail (Highland Park) won Kindergarten and First Grade, Wheaton Christian won Grades 4 and 7, and Highcrest (Wilmette) won Grades 5 and 6.

Read More

Daniels, Do, Liu and Mardov Win Polgar World Open Sections; Earn Invites to 2015 World Youth In Greece

Overcoming competitors from multiple states, Illinois saw four of its natives winning their respective sections at the Susan Polgar World Youth, completed November 2 in Schaumburg.

The event was coordinated by ChessIQ, directed by Sevan Muradian and Vytautas Vitkauskas. Crosstables available here. Over 200 juniors competed in nine sections.

In the Under 14 section, Vincent Do prevailed on tiebreaks amid a six-pack of 4.5/6 scores. Vincent accepted a draw in the final round against Kansas' Joey Kelly, after an exciting endgame with promotion opportunities in both directions. Kelly was the section's highest-rated player entering the event. In their final matches, Jacob Furfine drew and Matthew Stevens won to join the top score group. Tej Rai finished a half-point back in a three-way tie for 7th. 32 players from six states competed in the section.

Read More

Illinois Youth in USCF Top 100 as of October 2014

For the first time since Penny Xu left the national Top 100 lists, Illinois has a female junior rated above 1900, thanks to Miranda Liu. At 13, Miranda is already among the top two dozen American females under Age 16 and the fifth-ranked 13-year old girl in the US.

Re-entering the ranks of the national Top 100 lists this month were 6-year old Alex Zhao and 10-year old Aiden Carey.

Posting the highest rating enhancements from the September to October lists were seven-year olds Arthur Xu (141) and Vrishank Ramnath (116). Also showing strong improvements were Miranda Liu (76), George Li (72), Edward Zhang (71), Stefan Musikic (64), and Rishi Narayanan (57).

Read More

Iowan Youth Wan Wins 11th Tour Stop in Moline

2014 QC ChampionsDefending K-6 National Champion Joseph Wan went 4-0 at the 2014 Quad Cities Classic claiming the first place trophy and over $100 in prize money. In doing so, he defeated both competing 2014 Illinois Tour participants, Aidan Carey in the first round and Jason Daniels in the third round.

Wan, currently the 30th-ranked 12 year-old in the country, recently moved to Iowa City, IA from Nebraska. His father, who teaches accounting at Western Illinois University, suggests we may be seeing more of Wan at Illinois events. 

Read More

Tour Continues To Quad Cities Oct 25

The dust has barely settled from the Midwest Class but for 2014 Illinois Tour stalwarts, it's on to the Quad Cities for this year's penultimate tour event. This marks the first time this tournament has been included in the Tour lineup but marks the fifth year for the Quad-City Classic, to be held in Moline on Saturday, October 25.

According to Rick Rector, "The Illowa Chess Club, or as it is now called, the Illowa Bi-State Chess Club, has been around for decades in the Quad-Cities."  Straddling the mighty Mississippi River, Rector explains the club serves both Illinois and Iowa. "Nowadays we meet in Moline but we have met on the Iowa side of the river, too."

The tournament announcement indicates that in addition to cash prizes that trophies will be awarded. The four-round Swiss will feature two sections, an Open and a Reserve designated for Under 1400's.

Read More

GM Avrukh, IM Kannappan Top '14 Midwest Class

With a fourth round head-to-head draw and respective victories in the final round, GM Boris Avrukh and IM Priyadharshan Kannappan earned the co-championship in the top section of the 2014 Midwest Class. On tiebreaks, Missouri-based Kannappan earned the bonus prize.

For the first time, the Continental Chess Association event featured a Premier section which attracted 58 players competing in more than a single round, including four Illinois-based Grandmasters. With re-entries and Under 1100 entrants counting as only half, the overall field fell just short of the 250 "based on", but the $20,000 prize fund was paid out within a few percentage points of the guarantee. 

The event featured two- and three-day options in seven sections, completing October 12 at Wheeling's Westin North Shore. Crosstables available here.

Read More

Dolson, Rhodes, Brock run for reelection; metro VP, secretary slots open, write-in candidates sought

ICA President Carl Dolson, Downstate Vice President Murrel Rhodes and Treasurer Bill Brock are standing for reelection to the ICA Executive Board.

No nominating petition was received for the position of Metro Vice President or Secretary, leaving those offices open to write-in candidates.

Should someone be interested in serving as an officer -- or upon any of the ICA's advisory committees (appointed by the President) -- current board members can be contacted through email as listed on the ICA site.

Read More

Illinois Youth in USCF Top 100 as of September 2014

Despite one drop-off, with the addition of Jacob Furfine, Illinois continues to field 20 juniors at or above the Expert mark as of the third Wednesday in August -- the cut-off date for the official September USCF ratings.

Thanks to Duncan Shepherd's ascension above 2100, Illinois has three of the top 18-year olds in the country, and claims three of the top 25 in an age group for one of the rare times in recent history. Duncan joins Sam Schmakel and Jonathan Kogan.

Anshul Adve also broke 2100, giving us three of the top 35 14-year olds in the country as Anshul joins Alex Bian and George Li.

The Land of Lincoln also boasts three of the top 35 13-year olds, and a total of nine juniors in the 13-year old Top 100, whereas statistically we'd expect to have only four. That list is headed by Matthew Stevens, Jacob Furfine and Akhil Kalghatgi.

Read More

Garrett Scott to Receive Broughton Award at ICA Annual Banquet

Garrett Scott Courtesy ICCA websiteThe Illinois Chess Association has selected Garrett Scott to receive the prestigious Natalie W. Broughton Lifetime Achievement in Chess Award at the ICA Annual Banquet.

The ICA Annual Banquet will be held at 6 pm, Saturday, November 22, 2014 at the Hilton Lisle / Naperville, 3003 Corporate West Drive in Lisle. The banquet will follow the ICA Annual Business Meeting, which will begin at 3:30 pm and is open to all ICA members.

Banquet tickets on sale now at

Read More

 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10 


ICA's Chess Blog
Latest Entries

Click here for complete blog.

Joomla Templates: from JoomlaShack