Garrett Scott to Receive Broughton Award at ICA Annual Banquet

Garrett Scott Courtesy ICCA websiteThe Illinois Chess Association has selected Garrett Scott to receive the prestigious Natalie W. Broughton Lifetime Achievement in Chess Award at the ICA Annual Banquet.

The ICA Annual Banquet will be held at 6 pm, Saturday, November 22, 2014 at the Hilton Lisle / Naperville, 3003 Corporate West Drive in Lisle. The banquet will follow the ICA Annual Business Meeting, which will begin at 3:30 pm and is open to all ICA members.

Banquet tickets on sale now at

Garrett is a well-known figure both in Illinois and national chess. From Normal, Garrett has been active on the Bloomington-Normal chess scene since before graduating from Illinois State University in the mid-60s. He has taken a primary role in developing young chess talent downstate. Scott has coached several generations of Bloomington-Normal individual students and elementary school teams, and established the Martin Luther King Day scholastic tournament, which has continued for 27 consecutive years.

Scott was instrumental in helping the Illinois Elementary School Association establish its annual state chess championship, first conducted in 2011.

Garrett is proud of his part in Bloomington-Normal’s chess activity and will tell you that, in 1994, Bloomington and New York City shared the honor for Chess City of the Year.

Scott has served as the ICA’s President, Downstate Vice-President, and Chairman of its Bid Committee. Garrett was a founder of CoChess, which conducted the K-8 and All Grade State Chess Championships for many years.

At the national level, Garrett has served on the USCF’s Executive Board and as Chair of the Scholastic Committee. He has also served several times as an Illinois delegate to the USCF Annual Meeting. Garrett received the USCF’s Lifetime Achievement in Chess Award in 2013.

Outside of chess, Garrett taught in Bloomington public schools for 38 years until his retirement in 2004, and served on the Normal Town Council for 23 years.

The Natalie W. Broughton Lifetime Achievement in Chess Award was established in 1995 by its namesake, Natalie W. Broughton. Previous Award winners include:

 1995 Angelo Sandrin  2001 Jim Warren 2008 -
 1996 Erik Karklins  2002 Tom Fineberg 2009 - 
 1997 Eugene Martinovsky  2003 - 2010 Helen Warren
 1998 Ray Doyle Satterlee  2004 - 2011 Andrew Karklins
 1999 Frank Skoff   2005 Fred Gruenberg 2012 James Brotsos
 2000 Bill Smythe  2006 - 2013 Michael Zacate
   2007 -